Binet Staging System (CLL)

Additional Information

Score Description

The Binet staging system is a widely used staging system for chronic lymphatic leukemia (CLL). The use of staging systems is recommended in recent CLL guidelines in order to help to guide therapy. Patients are grouped prognostically based on physical examination and blood counts. The Binet clinical staging system comprises three stages, which takes into consideration five potential sites of involvement: cervical, axillary, and inguinal lymph nodes, spleen and liver.


Stage Hb [g/l] Platelets [G/l] LN, spleen, liver
A > 100 > 100 < 3 involved regions
B > 100 > 100 > 3 involved regions
C < 100 < 100  

Further Reading

Binet JL et al. A new prognostic classification of chronic lymphocytic leukemia derived from a multivariate survival analysis. Cancer. 1981 Jul 1;48(1):198-206.